List Of Chief Ministers Of Assam From 1946

Need the complete list of Chief Ministers of Assam from 1946? Gopinath Bordoloi was the first Chief Minster of Assam, after the composite state of Assam adopted a unicameral Assam Legislative Assembly. 

There have been a total of 14 Chief Minsters of Assam, since 1946. The highest number of Assam CM from a single party is from the Indian National Congress -10 CMs. 

Himanta Bisw Sarma of the BJP is the current Assam Chief Minister and Anwara Taimur is the only woman to have held the CM post in the state.

Chief Ministers Of Assam – Interesting Facts

  • First CM of Assam: Gopinath Bordoloi
  • Current CM of Assam: Himanta Bisw Sarma 
  • Longest serving CM of Assam: Tarun Gogoi (5485 days)
  • CM with the shortest term: Kesab Chandra Gogoi (66 days)
  • India’s first female Muslim chief minister: Anwara Taimur (Only woman to have held the CM post in Assam)
  • Deputy Chief Minister of Assam: The position is currently vacant

The Full List Of Chief Ministers Of Assam

We have compiled for you a comprehensive Assam Chief Ministers list from 1946 along with their constituency, tenure and more.

Gopinath Bordoloi11 February 1946 – 6 August 1950Indian National CongressKamrup Sadar (South)
Bishnu Ram Medhi09 August 1950-27 December 1957Indian National CongressHajo
Bimala Prasad Chaliha28 December 1957 – 06 November 1970Indian National CongressSonari
Mahendra Mohan Choudhry11 November 1970 – 30 January 1972Indian National CongressGauhati East
Sarat Chandra Singha31 January 1972 – 12 March 1978Indian National CongressKokrajhar East
Golap Borbora12 March 1978 – 04 September 1979Janata PartyTinsukia
Jogendra Nath Hazarika09 September 1979 – 11 December 1979Janata PartyDuliajan
President’s Rule12 December 1979- 05 December 1980N/AN/A
Anwara Taimur06 December 1980 – 30 June 1981Indian National CongressDalgaon
President’s Rule30 June 1981- 13 January 1982N/AN/A
Kesab Chandra Gogoi13 January 1982 – 19 March 1982Indian National CongressDibrugarh
President’s Rule19 March 1982 – 27 February 1983N/AN/A
Hiteswar Saikia27 February 1983 – 23 December 1985Indian National CongressNazira
Prafulla Kumar Mahanta24 December 1985 – 28 November 1990Asom Gana ParishadNowgong
President’s Rule28 November 1990 – 30 June 1991N/AN/A
Hiteswar Saikia [2]30 June 1991 – 22 April 1996Indian National CongressNazira
Bhumidhar Barman22 April 1996 – 14 May 1996Indian National CongressBarkhetry
Prafulla Kumar Mahanta [2]15 may 1996 – 17 May 2001Asom Gana ParishadBarhampur
Tarun Gogoi18 May 2001 – 24 May 2016Indian National CongressTitabar
Sarbananda Sonowal24 May 2016 –  10 May 2021Bharatiya Janata PartyMajuli
Himanta Bisw Sarma10 May 2021 – IncumbentBharatiya Janata PartyJalukbari

Parties In Power In Assam Since 1946

  • Indian National Congress 
  • Janata Party
  • Asom Gana Parishad
  • Bharatiya Janata Party


Other Useful Information

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.