Chief Ministers Of Rajasthan From 1949 to 2021

Looking for the list of Chief Ministers of Rajasthan? Looking for Chief Ministers of Rajasthan 2020? Want to know the names of Deputy CMs, the first and only female Chief Minister and current Chief Minister in Rajasthan?

There have been 14 Chief Minsters in Rajasthan since 1949, with Heera Lal Shastri being the first CM of Rajasthan. Ashok Gehlot is the current CM of Rajasthan.

We bring you the comprehensive list of Chief Ministers of Rajasthan along with their tenure, constituencies and more. The list of Rajasthan CMs also include names, tenure and party of Deputy Chief Ministers in the state.

Read: State – Wise List Of CM Helpline Numbers And Portals In India

List Of Chief Ministers Of Rajasthan

NameTerm of OfficePolitical PartyElected Constituency
Heera Lal Shastri07 April 1949 - 05 January 1951Indian National Congress
C. S. Venkatachari06 January 1951 - 25 April 1951 Indian National Congress
Jai Narayan Vyas26 April 1951 - 03 March 1952Indian National Congress
Tika Ram Paliwal03 March 1952 - 31 October 1952Indian National CongressMahuwa
Jai Narayan Vyas [2]01 November 1952 - 12 November 1954Indian National CongressKishangarh
Mohan Lal Sukhadia13 November 1954 - 13 March 1967Indian National CongressUdaipur
President's Rule13 March 1967 - 26 April 1967N/AN/A
Mohan Lal Sukhadia [2]26 April 1967 - 09 July 1971Indian National CongressUdaipur
Barkatullah Khan09 July 1971 - 11 Ocober 1973Indian National CongressTijara
Hari Dev Joshi11 October 1973 - 29 April 1977Indian National CongressBanswara
President's Rule29 April 1977 - 22 June 1977N/AN/A
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat22 June 1977 - 16 February 1980Janata PartyChhabra
President's Rule16 February 1980 - 06 June 1980N/AN/A
Jagannath Pahadia06 June 1980 - 13 July 1981Indian National CongressWeir
Shiv Charan Mathur14 July 1981 - 23 February 1985Indian National CongressMandalgarh
Hira Lal Devpura23 February 1985 - 10 March 1985Indian National CongressKumbhalgarh
Hari Dev Joshi [2]10 March 1985 - 20 January 1988Indian National CongressBanswara
Shiv Charan Mathur [2]20 January 1988 - 04 December 1989Indian National CongressMandalgarh
Hari Dev Joshi [3]04 December 1989 - 04 March 1990Indian National CongressBanswara
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat [2]04 March 1990 - 15 Dece,ber 1992Bharatiya Janata PartyChhabra
President's Rule15 December 1992 - 04 December 1993N/AN/A
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat [3]04 Dcember 1993 - 29 November 1998Bharatiya Janata PartyBali
Ashok Gehlot01 December 1998 - 08 December 2003Indian National CongressSardarpura
Vasundhara Raje08 December 2003 - 11 December 2008Bharatiya Janata PartyJhalrapatan
Ashok Gehlot [2]12 December 2008 - 13 December 2013Indian National CongressSardarpura
Vasundhara Raje [2]13 December 2013 - 16 December 2018Bharatiya Janata PartyJhalrapatan
Ashok Gehlot [3]17 December 2018 - Incumbent Indian National CongressSardarpura

Read: JVVNL Bill Payment Online – Super Easy Ways To Pay Jaipur Electricity Bill

Chief Ministers of Rajasthan – Quick Facts

  • First CM of Rajasthan: Heera Lal Shastri
  • Current CM of Rajasthan: Ashok Gehlot
  • Deputy Chief Minister of Rajasthan: Position currently vacant
  • Only Woman to Service as CM of Rajasthan: Vasundhara Raje 
  • Longest serving CM of Rajasthan: Mohan Lal Sukhadia (total of 16 years and 194 days over two terms)

Parties In Power In Rajasthan Since 1947

  • Indian National Congress
  • Janata Party
  • Bhartiya Janata Party

Deputy Chief Ministers Of Rajasthan

We have also compiled for you a list of Deputy Chief Minsters of Rajasthan. The post of Deputy Chief Minster of Rajasthan is currently vacant after removal of Sachin Pilot as the Deputy Chief Minister on July 14, 2020.

NameChief MinisterPolitical Party
Tika Ram PaliwalIndian National CongressJai Narayan Vyas
Hari Shankar BhabhraBharatiya Janata PartyBhairon Singh Shekhawat
Banwari Lal BairwaIndian National CongressAshok Gehlot
Kamla BeniwalIndian National CongressAshok Gehlot
Sachin PilotIndian National CongressAshok Gehlot

Source: Previous Chief Ministers (

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *