Bihar Election 2020 Date

Want to know Bihar election 2020 dates? Bihar election 2020 will take place from October 28, 2020 in three phases. The Election Commission has announce the dates for Bihar assembly election on September 25,2020 . The current Nitish Kumar led government’s tenure will come to an end by 20th November. The counting is scheduled on 10th November.

Find out dates of Bihar assembly election for various phase and constituency-wise list of candidates from Major political parties such as RJD, JDU, BJP and INC

Bihar election 2020 would make history as it is the first state in India to go to elections during a pandemic. Sunil Arora, the Chief Election Commissioner Of India stated that assembly election in Bihar will go as scheduled and special arrangements will be made to ensure safety of the citizens. Let’s find out more about Bihar election 2020 date.

Bihar Election 2020 Date

Phase Date Number Of Seats Going To Poll
Phase 1October 2871 constituencies in 16 districts
Phase 2November 394 constituencies in 17 districts
Phase 3November 778 constituencies in 15 districts

Bihar Election Assembly 2020 Dates

Bihar Assembly Election 2020: Phase 1Bihar Assembly Election 2020: Phase 2Bihar Assembly Election 2020: Phase 3
October 8 – Last date to file nominationOctober 16 – Last date to file nominationOctober 20 – Last date to file nomination
October 9 – Scrutiny of nominationOctober 17 – Scrutiny of nominationOctober 21 – Scrutiny of nomination
October 12 – Last date for nomination withdrawal October 19 – Last date for nomination withdrawalOctober 23 – Last date for nomination withdrawal
October 28 – Date of pollingNovember 3 – Date of pollingNovember 7 – Date of polling
Bihar Assembly Election 2020
Image by Wokandapix from Pixabay

Bihar Assembly Election 2020Quick Facts

  • Polling time: 7 am to 6 pm
  • The last one hour will be reserved for Covid-19 patents and those under quarantine
  • There are 72.9 million electors in Bihar

Major Political Parties In Bihar

The major parties that might contest in the upcoming Bihar assembly elections are:

Party 2015 Seats 2015 Vote Share
RJD - Rashtriya Janata Dal 8018.4%
JDU- Janata Dal (United)7116.8%
BJP - Bharatiya Janata Party 5324.40%
INC - Indian National Congress276.70%
CPI(ML)(L) - Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist) Liberation31.50%
LJP - Lok Janshakti Party24.80%
RLSP - Rashtriya Lok Samta Party22.60%
HAMS - Hindustani Awam Morcha12.30%
BSP - Bahujan Samaj PartyNIL2.10%
CPM - Communist Party of India (Marxist)NIL1.40%
AIMIM - All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul MuslimeenNIL0.20%
NCP - Nationalist Congress PartyNIL0.50%

How To Vote Using EVM – VVPAT Machine

Bihar Assembly Election 2020 – Special Arrangements

To ensure safety of citizens, the commission suggested the following special arrangements:

  • Number of electors per polling station – 1,000 . Earlier it was1,500
  • Setting up 33,797 additional polling booths
  • Reduce average number of electors per booth 678. Earlier it was 985
  • Deployment of additional 1.8 lakhs polling personals
  • Allocation of more VVPATs and EVMs
  • Optional postal ballot voting for:
    • Senior citizens above 80
    • Persons with disability
    • Voters engaged in essential services
    • Covid-19 positive voters
  • To ensure safety the below will be used:
  • 6 lakh PPE kits
  • 7 lakhs sanitizers
  • 46 lakh masks
  • 6.7 lakh faces-shields
  • Pair of 23 lakh hand gloves
  • 7.2 crore single-use hand gloves for voters

Source: https://eci.gov.in/files/file/3904-bihar-2015/

Other Useful Information

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.