A Complete List Of Governors Of Kerala From 1956 to Present

Are you looking for details of the current and former governors of Kerala? This post has a complete list of Kerala governors along with their term of office. We have also included an FAQ section with answers to some of the commonly asked questions, such as the names of the first and the present Kerala governors, the first women governor, etc.

Like in the rest of Indian states, Kerala state governors are also appointed by the President of India, and their term of office is normally 5 years.

Governors Of Kerala – An Overview

Dr. Burgula Ramakrishna Rao was the first governor of Kerala and he took office shortly after the state was formed in 1956. The current Kerala governor is Arif Mohammad Khan. V.V. Giri, V. Viswanathan, Jothi Venkatachalam, Sukhdev Singh Kang, R.L Bhatia, P. Ramachandran, etc. are among the other notable governors of Kerala.

As of 2021, the total number of governors of Kerala is 22, excluding those who handled the additional charge of the state following the absence or death of the governor in office.  Jothi Venkatachalam, Ram Dulari Sinha, and Sheila Dikshit were the three women governors of Kerala.

Full List Of Governors Of Kerala Since 1956

Check out the complete list of governors of Kerala. The list also includes the names of Chief Ministers during the tenure of a governor and the names and details of governors who handled the additional charge of Kerala.

Sl. NoNamePeriodChief Minister
 Acting GovernorP.S. Rao (Acting)1 November 1956 to 21 November 1956The acting governor during the state formation
1Dr. Burgula Ramakrishna Rao22 November 1956 to 1 July 1960E. M. S. Namboodiripad
Pattom A. Thanu Pillai
 2Varahagiri Venkata Giri (V.V. Giri)1 July 1960 to 2 April 1965Pattom A. Thanu Pillai
R. Sankar
 3Ajit Prasad Jain2 April 1965 to 6 February 1966President’s Rule
 4Bhagwan Sahay6 February 1966 to 15 May 1967President’s Rule
E. M. S. Namboodiripad
 5Venkata Viswanathan (V. Viswanathan)15 May 1967 to 1 April 1973E. M. S. Namboodiripad
C. Achutha Menon
 6Niranjan Nath Wanchoo (N.N Wanchoo)1 April 1973 to 10 October 1977C. Achutha Menon
K. Karunakaran
A. K. Antony
 7Jothi Venkatachalam14 October 1977 to 26 October 1982A.K. Antony
P. K. Vasudevan Nair
C. H. Mohammed Koya
E. K. Nayanar
K. Karunakaran
 8P. Ramachandran27 October 1982 to 23 February 1988K. Karunakaran
E. K. Nayanar
 9Ram Dulari Sinha23 February 1988 to 12 February 1990E.K.Nayanar
 10Dr. Swaroop Singh12 February 1990 to 20 November 1990E.K.Nayanar
 11Basavayya Rachaiah (B. Rachaiah)20 December 1990 to 9 November 1995E.K.Nayanar
K. Karunakaran
A. K. Antony
Additional chargeGopal Ramanujam20 April 1995 to 29 April 1995 
 12Punjala Shiv Shankar (P. Shiv Shankar)12 November 1995 to 1 May 1996A. K. Antony
 13Khurshed Alam Khan5 May 1996 to 25 January 1997A.K.Antony E.K.Nayanar
 14Sukhdev Singh Kang25 January 1997 to 18 April 2002E.K.Nayanar A.K.Antony  
Additional chargeDr. C Rangarajan (In the absence of Sukhdev Singh Kang)29 February 2000 to 23 April 2000 19 October 2000 to 7 November 2000 16 February 2002 to 28 February 2002 
Additional chargeMohammed Fazal (In the absence of Sukhdev Singh Kang)14 September 2001 to 28 September 2001 
 15Sikander Bakht18 April 2002 to 23 February 2004A.K.Antony
Additional chargeTriloki Nath Chaturvedi (Following the death of Sikander Bakht)25 February 2004 to 23 June 2004A.K.Antony
 16Raghunandan Lal Bhatia (R.L Bhatia)23 June 2004 to 10 July 2008A. K. Antony
Oommen Chandy
V. S. Achuthanandan
 17Ramkrishna Suryabhan Gavai (R.S. Gavai)11 July 2008 to 7 September 2011V.S. Achuthanandan
Oommen Chandy
 18M. O. Hasan Farook Maricar8 September 2011 to 26 January 2012Oommen Chandy
Additional chargeHansraj Bhardwaj (Following the death of M. O. Hasan Farook Maricar)1 March 2012 to 9 March 2013Oommen Chandy
 19Nikhil Kumar23 March 2013 to 5 March 2014Oommen Chandy
 20Sheila Dikshit11 March 2014 to 4 September 2014Oommen Chandy
 21Justice P. Sathasivam5 September 2014 to 5 September 2019Oommen Chandy Pinarayi Vijayan
 22Arif Mohammad Khan6 September 2019 to ContinuingPinarayi Vijayan

FAQs On Kerala Governors

Who was the first governor of Kerala?

Dr. Burgula Ramakrishna Rao was the first governor of Kerala.

Related Articles

Who is the present Kerala governor?

Arif Mohammad Khan is the current governor of Kerala?

Who was the first women governor of Kerala?

Jothi Venkatachalam was the first women governor of Kerala.

How many women governors did Kerala have?

Three – Jothi Venkatachalam, Ram Dulari Sinha, and Sheila Dikshit.

Who was the first Malayali to become the governor of Kerala?

Venkata Viswanathan aka V. Viswanathan was the first Malayali governor of Kerala. He was born in Palakkad in 1909, which was then part of the Madras Presidency.

Who was the first former Chief Justice of India to be appointed as a state’s governor?

Justice P. Sathasivam, the 21st Kerala governor, is the first former Chief Justice of India to be appointed as a state governor.

How many Kerala governors died in office?

Two. Sikander Bakht was the first Kerala governor to die in office. He died at the age of 85 from the complications of a surgery. The second governor who died in office was M.O.H. Farook, who died of multiple myeloma, aged 74.

Who is the shortest-serving governor of Kerala?

M. O. Hasan Farook Maricar, popularly known as M.O.H. Farook, is the shortest-serving governor of Kerala. He held office from 08-09-2011 to 26-01-2012 – around 141 days.


Other Useful Information

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *