Chief Ministers Of Kerala List From 1957 To 2022

Looking for the names, party, period and other details of Chief Ministers of Kerala since 1957? Here is the complete list of Kerala CMs since the first government led by E.M. S, Elamkulam Manakkal Sankaran Namboodiripad, who was a member of the Communist Party of India.

The State was formed on 1 November, 1956 with Malayalam speaking districts. Twelve Chief Ministers have governed the state since then.

The current CM, Pinarayi Vijayan, was sworn in as the 23r Chief Minister of Kerala on May 20th. He is the 13th person to hold of the office of the Chief Minister of Kerala. His government was reelected in the recent assembly polls. This is the first time the incumbent government is coming back to power in Kerala.

Read: List Of Education Ministers Of Kerala Since 1957

Kerala Chief Ministers Since 1957

Here is a list of Kerala CMs, their parties and ruling period.

Kerala CMSTerm Party Constituency
E. M. S. Namboodiripad5 April 1957 to 31 July 1959Communist Party of IndiaNileshwaram
Pattom A. Thanu Pillai22 February 1960 to 26 September 1962Praja Socialist PartyTrivandrum II
R. Sankar26 September 1962 to 10 September 1964Indian National CongressCannanore I
E. M. S. Namboodiripad06 March 1967 to 01 November 1969Communist Party of India (Marxist)
(Saptakakshi Munnani)
C. Achutha Menon01 November 1969 to 01 August 1970Communist Party of IndiaKottarakkara
C. Achutha Menon04 October 1970 to 25 March 1977Communist Party of India
(United Front)
K. Karunakaran25 March 1977 to 25 April 1977Indian National Congress
(United Front)
A. K. Antony
27 April 1977 to 27 October 1978
Indian National Congress
(United Front)
P. K. Vasudevan Nair29 October 1978 to 07 October 1979Communist Party of India
(United Front)
C. H. Mohammed Koya12 October 1979 to 01 December 1979Indian Union Muslim League
(United Front)
E. K. Nayanar25 January 1980 to 20 October 1981Communist Party of India (Marxist)
(Left Democratic Front)
K. Karunakaran28 December 1981 to 17 March 1982Indian National Congress (I)
(United Democratic Front)
K. Karunakaran24 May 1982 to 25 March 1987Indian National Congress
(United Democratic Front)
E. K. Nayanar26 March 1987 to 17 June 1991Communist Party of India (Marxist)
(Left Democratic Front)
K. Karunakaran24 June 1991 to 16 March 1995Indian National Congress
(United Democratic Front)
A. K. Antony22 March 1995 to 09 May 1996Indian National Congress
(United Democratic Front)
E. K. Nayanar20 May 1996 to 13 May 2001Indian National Congress
(United Democratic Front)
A. K. Antony17 May 2001 to 29 August 2004Indian National Congress
(United Democratic Front)
Oommen Chandy31 August 2004 to 12 May 2006Indian National Congress
(United Democratic Front)
V. S. Achuthanandan
18 May 2006 to 14 May 2011
Communist Party of India (Marxist)
(Left Democratic Front)
Oommen Chandy18 May 2011 to 20 May 2016Indian National Congress
(United Democratic Front)
Pinarayi Vijayan25 May 2016 3 May 2021Communist Party of India (Marxist)
(Left Democratic Front)
Pinarayi Vijayan25 May 2016Communist Party of India (Marxist)
(Left Democratic Front)

Chief Ministers Of KeralaQuick Facts

  • The First CM of Kerala: EMS
  • Party: Communist Party of India
  • Total Number Of CMS: 23
  • The current Kerala CM: Pinarayi Vijayan
  • Party: CPIM
  • Governor: Arif Mohammad Khan

Chief Ministers Of Kerala Interesting Facts

  • The first Chief Ministers of Kerala to complete term: A Achutha Menon
  • CM to serve longest is E K Nayanar (4009 days)
  • The oldest CM of Kerala: V S Achuthanandan (83 when he assumed office)
  • The youngest CM Kerala: A K Antony ( 36 years and four months old)
  • C H was CM for only 51 days
  • The 5th Kerala assembly had 4 CMs:
    • K Karunakaran (March 25, 1977 to April 25, 1977)
    • A K Antony (April 27, 1977 to October 27)
    • P K Vasudevan Nair (1978, from October 29 to October 7, 1979)
    • C H Mohammed Koya (October 12, 1979 to December one, 1979)

Read: Kerala Police Helpline Numbers – Control Room Cyber And Women Cell Contacts

Chief Ministers Of Kerala – FAQs

What is present Kerala CM’s name?

Pinarayi Vijayan is 12th and present Kerala CM. He took charge on 25th May, 2016 and handles the portfolio of Minister of Home Affairs.

How to send money to Kerala CM relief fund?

There are many ways to donate to Kerala CM relief fund:
Official portal: Visit the donation portal, fill up the form and make your donation 
QR Code scanning: You can scan the QR code mentioned on the site and then pay using wallets and bank payment apps.
Bank Transfer: You can write a check or transfer money to the bank accounts mentioned here
Official WhatsApp For Distress Relief: +91-91886-00600

What is Kerala CMs office address?

Below given is the Kerala CM office address
141, 3rd Floor, North Block,
Government Secretariat,
Thiruvananthapuram – 695001
Phone: 0471- 2332-184, 0471-2333-241, 0471-2333-610
WhatsApp Number Office Grievances: +91-91885-00500
Official WhatsApp Number Distress Relief: +91-91886-00600


Other Useful Information

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button