List Of Chief Ministers Of Andhra Pradesh From 1956 To Present

Want to know the complete list of Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh? Here is AP CMs list since 1956. We have also compiled the names and term duration of CMs of Andhra State from 1953 to 1956.

You can find the list of Deputy Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh (AP) as well here.

Chief Ministers Of Andhra PradeshQuick Facts

  • The 1st CM of Andhra Pradesh: Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
  • Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was also the 6th President
  • The current CM of AP: Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy
  • There are 5 deputy CMs in the current government
  • The current Governor of AP: Biswa Bhusan Harichandan
Check out the Complete AP Ministers List 2020 YSRCP

Chief Ministers Of Andhra Pradesh After Bifurcation Of The State

Here is the list of CMs of AP after the bifurcation in 2014.

Name TermPartyConstituency
N. Chandrababu Naidu8 June 2014 - 29 May 2019Telugu Desam PartyKuppam
Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy30 May 2019 - PresentYSR Congress PartyPulivendla

List Of AP CMs Before Bifurcation Of The State

Below listed are the AP CMs before bifurcation of the state. The list include Andhra CMs from 1956 to 2014.

NameTerm PartyConstituency
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy1 November 1956 - 11 January 1960Indian National CongressKalahasti
Damodaram Sanjivayya11 January 1960 - 12 March 1962Indian National CongressKurnool
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy12 March 1962 - 20 February 1964Indian National CongressDhone
Kasu Brahmananda Reddy21 February 1964 - 30 September 1971Indian National CongressNarasaraopet
P. V. Narasimha Rao30 September 1971 - 10 January 1973Indian National CongressManthani
President's Rule11 Jan 1973 - 10 December 1973 NANA
Jalagam Vengala Rao10 December 1973 - 6 March 1978Indian National CongressVemsoor
Marri Chenna Reddy6 March 1978 - 11 October 1980Indian National CongressMedchal
Tanguturi Anjaiah11 October 1980 - 24 February 1982Indian National CongressMember of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council, Hyderabad
Bhavanam Venkatarami Reddy24 February 1982 - 20 September 1982Indian National CongressMember of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council, Guntur
Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy20 September 1982 -9 January 1983Indian National CongressKurnool
N. T. Rama Rao9 January 1983 - 16 August 1984Telugu Desam PartyTirupati
Nadendla Bhaskara Rao16 August 1984 - 16 September 1984Telugu Desam PartyVemuru
N. T. Rama Rao16 September 1984 - 2 December 1989Telugu Desam PartyHindupur
Marri Chenna Reddy3 December 1989 - 17 December 1990Indian National CongressSanathnagar
N. Janardhana Reddy17 December 1990 - 9 October 1992Indian National CongressVenkatagiri
Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy9 October 1992 - 12 December 1994Indian National CongressPanyam
N. T. Rama Rao12 December 1994 - 1 September 1995Telugu Desam PartyHindupur
N. Chandrababu Naidu1 September 1995 - 13 May 2004Telugu Desam PartyKuppam
Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy14 May 2004 - 2 September 2009Indian National CongressPulivendla
K. Rosaiah3 September 2009 - 24 November 2010Indian National CongressMember of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council, Guntur
N. Kiran Kumar Reddy25 November 2010 - 1 March 2014Indian National CongressPileru
President's Rule1 March 2014 - 8 June 2014Indian National CongressNA

Deputy Chief Ministers Of Andhra Pradesh

Below listed are the DY CMs of AP

NameChief MinisterPolitical Party
Konda Venkata Ranga ReddyNeelam Sanjeeva ReddyIndian National Congress
J.V. Narsing RaoKasu Brahmananda ReddyIndian National Congress
C. Jagannatha RaoBhavanam Venkatarami ReddyIndian National Congress
Koneru Ranga RaoKotla Vijaya Bhaskara ReddyIndian National Congress
Damodar Raja NarasimhaN. Kiran Kumar ReddyIndian National Congress
List Of Deputy CMs After Bifurcation Of The State In 2014
Nimmakayala ChinarajappaN. Chandrababu NaiduTelugu Desam Party
K. E. KrishnamurthyN. Chandrababu NaiduTelugu Desam Party
Pilli Subhash Chandra BoseY. S. Jaganmohan ReddyYSR Congress Party
Alla NaniY. S. Jaganmohan ReddyYSR Congress Party
K. Narayana SwamyY. S. Jaganmohan ReddyYSR Congress Party
Pamula PushpasreevaniY. S. Jaganmohan ReddyYSR Congress Party
Amzath Basha Shaik BepariY. S. Jaganmohan ReddyYSR Congress Party
Dharmana Krishna DasY. S. Jaganmohan ReddyYSR Congress Party

CMs Of Andhra State

The state was carved out of Madras State in 1953 with Telugu-speaking northern districts. The two regions included in the then Andhra state was  Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema. Only 2 CMs governed the Andhra State.

T. Prakasam1 October 1953 - 15 November 1954Indian National Congress
President's rule15 November 1954 - 28 March 1955NA
B. Gopala Reddy15 November 1954 - 28 March 1955 Indian National Congress


Other Useful Information

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button