Chief Ministers In Delhi Since 1952

Want to know the list of Chief Ministers of Delhi? Here is the complete list of Chief Ministers in Delhi since 1952. The Delhi Chief Ministers list includes the names of first CM, the first female Chief Minister and the CM who was in office for the longest period.

The Delhi Chief Minister’s office was abolished from 1 November, 1956 to 1 December, 1993. BJP’s Madan Lal Khurana became CM once the post was reinstated.

You Might Want To Read

Chief Ministers In Delhi – The Complete List

Below listed are the full list of Chief Ministers in Delhi since 1952.

State – Wise List Of CM Helpline Numbers And Portals In India

Chief MinisterTermPartyConstituency
Chaudhary Brahm Prakash17 March 1952  to 12 February 1955Indian National Congress (INC)Nangloi Jat
Gurmukh Nihal Singh12 February 1955 to 1 November 1956Indian National Congress (INC)Daryaganj
Office Abolished1 November 1956 – 1 December 1993
Madan Lal Khurana2 December 1993 to 26 February 1996Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)Moti Nagar
Sahib Singh Verma26 February 1996 to 12 October 1998Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)Shalimar Bagh
Sushma Swaraj 12 October 1998 to 3 December 1998Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)Not Contested
Sheila Dikshit3 December 1998 to 1 December 2003Indian National Congress (INC)New Delhi
Sheila Dikshit1 December 2003 to 29 November 2008Indian National Congress (INC)New Delhi
Sheila Dikshit29 November 2008 to 28 December 2013Indian National Congress (INC)New Delhi
Arvind Kejriwal28 December 2013 to 14 February 2014Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)New Delhi
President's Rule14 February 2014 to 14 February 2015
 Arvind Kejriwal 14 February 2015 - IncumbentAam Aadmi Party (AAP)New Delhi

Chief Ministers Of Delhi – Interesting Facts

  • First Delhi CM: Chaudhary Brahm Prakash
  • First Female Chief Minister of Delhi: Sushma Swaraj (BJP)
  • The longest-serving Delhi Chief Minister: Sheila Dikshit (NC)
  • The office was abolished between 1956-93

Deputy Chief Ministers Of Delhi

Delhi has only 2 Deputy CMs. Manish Sisodia from AAP is the only one to hold the office.

Deputy CMTermPartyChief Minister
Manish Sisodia14 February 2015 to 14 February 2020AAPArvind Kejriwal
Manish Sisodia16 February 2020 – PresentAAPArvind Kejriwal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *