List Of Chief Ministers Of Maharashtra From 1947 To Present

Want to know the List of Chief Ministers of Maharashtra?  The list of Maharashtra Chief Ministers Since 1947 include the names of CM, Deputy CMs and Chief Ministers of Bombay Sate.

We have also compiled some interesting and quick facts about Maharashtra CMs such as the name of longest serving CM of the state.

Yashwantrao Chavan of the Indian National Congress was the first Chief Minister of the State of Maharashtra. Eknath Shinde of the Shiv Sena is the current CM and Devendra Fadnavis from BJP is the Deputy CM of Maharashtra. 

Chief Ministers Of Maharashtra From 1947

We have compiled for you a comprehensive list of Maharashtra Chief Ministers from 1960, as well as the Deputy Chief Minsters of Maharashtra list.

NameTerm of OfficePolitical Party
Elected Constituency
Yashwantrao Chavan01 May 1960 - 19 November 1962Indian National CongressKarad North
Marotrao Kannamwar20 November 1962 - 24 November 1963Indian National CongressSaoli
P. K. Sawant25 November 1963 - 04 December 1963Indian National CongressChiplun
Vasantrao Naik05 December 1963 - 01 March 1967Indian National CongressPusad
Vasantrao Naik01 March 1967 - 13 March 1972Indian National CongressPusad
Vasantrao Naik13 March 1972 - 20 February 1975Indian National CongressPusad
Shankarrao Chavan21 February 1975 - 16 May 1977Indian National CongressBhokar
Vasantdada Patil17 May 1977 - 05 March 1978Indian National CongressMember of the Maharashtra Legislative Counci
Vasantdada Patil05 March 1978 - 18 July 1978Indian National Congress (Urs) (Congress - Congress (I))Sangli
Sharad Pawar18 July 1978 - 17 February 1980Indian National Congress(Socialist)
(Progressive Democratic Front)
President's Rule17 February 1980 - 08 June 1980N/AMalvan
Abdul Rehman Antulay09 une 1980- 12 January 1982Indian National CongressShrivardhan
Babasaheb Bhosale21 January 1982 - 01 February 1983Indian National CongressNehrunagar
Vasantdada Patil 02 February 1983 - 01 June 1985Indian National CongressSangli
Shivajirao Patil Nilangekar03 June 1985 - 06 March 1986Indian National CongressNilanga
Shankarrao Chavan 12 March 1986 - 26 June 1988Indian National CongressMember of the Maharashtra Legislative Counci
Sharad Pawar 26 June 1988 - 03 March 1990Indian National CongressBaramati
Sharad Pawar 04 March 1990 - 25 June 1991Indian National CongressBaramati
Sudhakarrao Naik25 June 1991 - 22 February 1993Indian National CongressPusad
Sharad Pawar 06 March 1993 - 14 March 1995Indian National CongressBaramati
Manohar Joshi14 March 1995 - 31 January 1999Shiv SenaDadar
Narayan Rane01 February 1999 - 17 October 1999Shiv SenaMalvan
Vilasrao Deshmukh18 October 1999 - 16 January 2003Indian National CongressLatur City
Sushilkumar Shinde18 January 2003 - 30 October 2004Indian National CongressSolapur South
Vilasrao Deshmukh 01 November 2004 - 04 December 2008Indian National CongressLatur City
Ashok Chavan08 December 2008 - 15 Octobr 2009Indian National CongressBhokar
Ashok Chavan07 November 2009 - 09 November 2010Indian National CongressBhokar
Prithviraj Chavan11 November 2010 -26 Septembr 2014Indian National CongressMember of the Maharashtra Legislative Counci
President's Rule28 September 2014 -30 October 2014N/AN/A
Devendra Fadnavis31 October 2014 - 8 November 2019Bharatiya Janata Party
(BJP-Shiv Sena)
Nagpur South West
President's Rule12 November 2019 - 23 November 2019N/AN/A
Devendra Fadnavis [2]23 November 2019 - 26 November 2019Bharatiya Janata Party
(BJP-NCP (Ajit Pawar group))
Nagpur South West
Uddhav Thackeray28 November 2019 - IncumbentShiv Sena
(Maha Vikas Aghadi)
Member of the Maharashtra Legislative Counci
Eknath Shinde30 June 2022

Maharashtra Chief Ministers – Quick Facts

  • Current CM of Maharashtra: Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray
  • First CM of Maharashtra: Yashwantrao Chavan
  • Longest serving CM of Maharashtra: Vasantroa Naik (11 years and 77 days)
  • Only CM of Maharashtra to die in Office: Marotrao Kannanwar
  • Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra: Ajit Pawar

List Of Deputy Chief Ministers Of Maharashtra

Below listed are Deputy CMs in Maharashtra

NameChief MinisterPolitical Party
Nasikrao TirpudeVasantdada PatilCongress (I)
Sundarrao SolankeSharad PawarIndian National Congress (Socialist)
Ramrao AdikVasantdada PatilIndian National Congress
Gopinath MundeManohar JoshiBharatiya Janata Party
Gopinath MundeNarayan RaneBharatiya Janata Party
Chhagan BhujbalVilasrao DeshmukhNationalist Congress Party
Vijaysingh Mohite-PatilSushilkumar ShindeNationalist Congress Party
R R PatilVilasrao DeshmukhNationalist Congress Party
Chhagan BhujbalAshok ChavanNationalist Congress Party
Ajit PawarPrithviraj ChavanNationalist Congress Party
Ajit PawarDevendra FadnavisNationalist Congress Party
Ajit PawarUddhav ThackerayNationalist Congress Party
Devendra FadnavisEknath ShindeBharatiya Janata Party

Parties and Alliances In Power In Maharashtra Since 1947

  • Indian National Congress  
  • Congress-Congress I 
  • Progressive Democratic Front
  • Sena-BJP
  • Maha Vikas Aghadi 

Chief Ministers Of Bombay State

The State of Maharashtra was formed in 1960, following the dissolution of the erstwhile Bombay State. You can find the list of Chief Ministers of the Bombay State from 1947 to 1960 here.

NameTerm of OfficePolitical Party
Elected Constituency
B. G. Kher15 August 1947 - 21 April 1952Indian National CongressNA
Morarji Desai21 April 1952 - 31 October 1956Indian National CongressBulsar Chikhil
Yashwantrao Chavan1 November 1956 - 5 April 1957Indian National CongressKarad North
Yashwantrao Chavan5 April 1957 - 30 April 1960Indian National CongressKarad North


Leave a Reply

Back to top button